O.D.

I am flying with wings of methamphetamine-induced euphoria. I’m defying gravity, willing the wind to take me higher than I’ve ever been. If I fly high enough, I may never have to come back down again. If I don’t look down, I may never have to remember.

Take me away from this semi-charmed, over-glorified existence people mistake for a life. Hypnotize me into believing that there will always be tomorrow. Even if only for a while, just for a while, let me feel as if everything will always be alright.

Spinning around, rising up, tumbling down, take me on a roller-coaster ride again and again and never ever let it end. I’m touching Nirvana, wallowing in Valhalla. When I close my eyes, let me awake in Neverland with Peter Pan and may I stay forever young.

Take away my breath with a single kiss. Make reason stop reasoning and this pain stop hurting. I finally feel complete. Keep memories from creeping in and let me blissfully, finally, forget…

“I’m on a high, on a high

We are the sea and the sky

I’m on a high, on a high

I’m on a high

It’s a lie, it’s a lie; don’t you believe it

Cause I’ve tried and I’ve tried; and I can’t really see it

Yeah, I’m trapped inside my conspiracy of happiness

Said I was yours, you were mine; but I didn’t really mean it

And I lied and I lied and I wish you hadn’t seen it

Cause I’m trapped inside my conspiracy of happiness

I’m on a high, on a high, there’s nothing more to it, yeah”

                                                   

                                                              On a High – Duncan Sheik

Leave a Reply

