Solitudo Solitudinis

I’m lonely and I neither like it nor dislike it. I just am. I’ve come to accept it as not only a part of my life but also of my personality. It was there in my earliest memories and it’s still here with me now, silently watching over me and accompanying me. Others may have let me down but loneliness never did. It’s reliable and dependable, my one and only true friend who has seen my darkness and my light and is affected by neither. I’m done fighting it now. I’ll no longer try to escape its velvet whispers and silky strokes. I’m no longer scared of lonely.

“Yet it is in this loneliness that the deepest activities begin. It is here that you discover act without motion, labor that is profound repose, vision in obscurity, and, beyond all desire, a fulfillment whose limits extend to infinity.” – Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

