The Sarcastic, Bitter Me

I’m reading my own blog, other people’s status on Facebook, tweets on Twitter, text messages on mobile phones, e-mails. Remembering words said and promises made. And I wonder.

I wonder how often do we mean what we say and say what we mean. I wonder how many of us remember a promise and keep it not because we have to but because we want to. I wonder how words start to lose their meaning because of our own inconsistency and irresponsibility.

So many people. So many words. So many empty words. Does that mean there are as many empty people?

I recognise that absolute honesty about everything to everyone at every time is close to impossible. Truth is an unpopular taste and often comes with a consequence we are neither ready nor willing to face.

So we lie. We lie to spare other people’s feelings, to maintain harmony, to be kind, to impress, to be safe, and to ultimately escape or at least forestall an undesirable consequence.

I’ve lied. White lies, yellow lies, half-truths, and flat-out bullshit. About too many things and to too many people, including to myself. I don’t like it but I acknowledge its necessity. For me, it’s a matter of knowing to whom, about what, and why. Because at the end of the day, everything is justifiable and isn’t truth overrated anyway?

Leave a Reply

