Again, Alone

It’s been weeks since I announced my (temporary) withdrawal from my social networks, actual and virtual. There’s just been too much noise, so much in fact that I just couldn’t listen anymore. There’s few people I can actually stand and the number seems to dwindle even further as days go by. People are abrasive at times and my inability – or unwillingness – to develop a thick skin or to be abrasive right back means that the alternative solution would be to limit the frequency and intensity of contact with others, which brings me to where I am: alone.

So I daydream, read, listen to music, watch movies, sing, write, and play with my cats; filling my time doing what I can and want to do. And you know what? I’m happier. Admittedly, this is not the kind of life that most would consider ideal but then again what do the opinions of most people matter? Like I said, they’re just noise. Unbearable, incessant, inconsequential noise dripping with judgment and prejudice and restricted by the depth – or otherwise – of their understanding. And since people will only see what they choose to see, what’s the point of explaining my existence? Best I can do and expect is to just live and let live.

Leave a Reply

