Helplessness is a Cold Gun

I’ve just finished reading an official statement that the Islamic Defenders Front (FPI) released in regards to the Queer Film Festival recently held in Jakarta (It’s unfortunately in Indonesian. I can translate it, but I won’t. It’s too depressing to read more than twice). It’s a inflammatory message of hate so strong in which they state that ‘homosexual behaviour is not human rights’ and claim that the festival is ‘a campaign to spread homosexuality and destroy Islamic values’, ending with a call to join FPI and ‘fight the spreading of sin backed by foreign forces and the excuse of human rights’.

I’ve stated in my previous posts that I’m worried. Should I be scared now?

Born a Batakese Christian (albeit more spiritual than religious) in Indonesia, I’m an automatic minority. Being gay classifies me into a smaller box. And being openly gay puts me in an even smaller one. It’s safe that say that I get more and more compartmentalized into a tighter and tighter corner. As much as I didn’t like it, though, I got used to it. But when something like this happens, I can’t help thinking, “Why can’t people just leave well enough alone?”

Growing up gay was not easy, as it very rarely is for anyone who’s different in any way. The taunts and the teases, the bullying and the intimidation, the name-calling and ostracism were rough but as with everything else, I lived through it and those experiences became just memories, uncomfortable and unwelcome as they may be.

I wonder, how about this one?

Leave a Reply

